Skip to product information
1 of 1

Tor Books

Craft: Stories I Wrote for the Devil by Ananda Lima (Hardcover) (PREORDER)

Craft: Stories I Wrote for the Devil by Ananda Lima (Hardcover) (PREORDER)

Regular price $24.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $24.99 USD
Sale Sold out

Fiction - Short Stories - Horror - Magical Realism - Literary - Hispanic & Latino

RELEASE DATE: 6/18/2024 (WILL SHIP DIRECTLY FROM OUR SUPPLIER'S WAREHOUSE AND ARRIVE 1-2 DAYS AFTER THE RELEASE DATE)

Strange, intimate, haunted, and hungry―Craft: Stories I Wrote for the Devil is an intoxicating and surreal fiction debut by award-winning author Ananda Lima.

  • “An astounding new voice.” ―ERIC LaROCCA 
  • "I love it so much.” ―KELLY LINK 
  • “Trippy, eerie, wry, and always profound.” ―JOHN KEENE 
  • “Incredible. Truly wondrous.” ―KEVIN WILSON
  • "Heart-wrenching and wickedly funny." ―GWEN KIRBY
  • “Propulsive, uncanny, and expertly built.” ―JULIA FINE

At a Halloween party in 1999, a writer slept with the devil. She sees him again and again throughout her life and she writes stories for him about things that are both impossible and true.

Lima lures readers into surreal pockets of the United States and Brazil where they’ll find bite-size Americans in vending machines and the ghosts of people who are not dead. Once there, she speaks to modern Brazilian-American immigrant experiences–of ambition, fear, longing, and belonging―and reveals the porousness of storytelling and of the places we call home.

With humor, an exquisite imagination, and a voice praised as “singular and wise and fresh” (Cathy Park Hong), Lima joins the literary lineage of Bulgakov and Lispector and the company of writers today like Ted Chiang, Carmen Maria Machado, and Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah.

Craft: Stories I Wrote for the Devil includes: “Rapture,” “Ghost Story,” “Tropicália,” “Antropógaga,” “Idle Hands,” “Rent,” “Porcelain,” “Heaven, Hell, and Purgatory,” and “Hasselblad.”

A great next read for fans of Carmen Maria Machado's Her Body and Other Parties and V. E. Schwab's The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue.

Recommended reading by Chicago Review of Books, Electric Literature, The Kenyon Review, and more!

AUTHOR BIO: 

ANANDA LIMA is a poet, translator, and fiction writer born in Brasília, Brazil, now living in Chicago, IL . She's the author of the poetry collection Mother/land ( Black Lawrence Press), winner of the Hudson Prize. Her work has appeared in The American Poetry Review, Poets.org, Kenyon Review Online, Gulf Coast, Pleiades, The Common, Witness, and elsewhere. She has been awarded the inaugural WIP Fellowship by Latinx-in-Publishing. She has an MA in Linguistics from UCLA and an MFA in Creative Writing in Fiction from Rutgers University, Newark. Craft: Stories I wrote for the Devil is her fiction debut.

View full details